Albert Starreveld
1 min readJul 28, 2023

--

Hi Mikkel,

Excellent question. Thank you.

Personally I haven't encountered such a situation (yet). Whatever went into the domain services or use-cases must always be valid and informing the end-user was always a requirement. This applied at various companies and applications I have encountered.

What I do see on the other hand, quite frankly, in my experience, not every application/domain/subdomain is a good fit for a DDD-kind-of-approach. (And then there's the people aspect. Not everybody wants, or is able to implement a DDD approach, and I don't believe forcing it is ever a good idea...) So, what I see a lot is that in some cases it's a good idea to go DDD all the way, and an approach like this could work. In other projects it's quite the opposite and layered architecture seems a better fit. And sometimes, best is to pragmatic and have a bit of both worlds. And usually that's a sign the value streams either changed ore were mapped incorrectly.

Hope this answers your question? I would love to hear your perspective and experience.

Cheers,

--

--

Albert Starreveld

Passionate about cloud native software development. Only by sharing knowledge and code we can take software development to the next level!